Consultants gather to honour security industry personalities

Lord Peter Imbert, patron of the Association of Security Consultants
Lord Peter Imbert, patron of the Association of Security Consultants

Lord Peter Imbert, patron of the Association of Security Consultants, presented the awards

The Association of Security Consultants (ASC) held their annual awards luncheon yesterday at the Royal Air Force Club in London.

ASC patron Lord Peter Imbert, the former commissioner of the Metropolitan Police Service, presented the awards before an audience of over 100 members and guests. The ASC’s Imbert Awards recognised the achievements of individuals within the security industry.

The University Dissertation Award is given to the best dissertation written by a masters degree candidate. The finalists were Christine Boseley, David Paterson, Christopher Newman and the winner Iain Gibson.

There were two nominations for the Association’s Notable Person Award:

Don Randall MBE (who was unable to attend the lunch) has been the national chairman of Project Griffin, co-founder of Cross Sector Safety & Security Communications and founder of the Safer Buildings Accreditation Scheme, in addition to a long list of other achievements.

Meanwhile, Baroness Ruth Henig CBE DL was until recently the chairman of the Security Industry Authority. She has had a keen interest in policity, community safety and security for many years, having held various posts as chair of the Lancashire Police Authority and president of the Association of Police Authorities.

The chairman of the ASC, Allan Hildage, said the judging panel were unable to choose between the two, so they took the unusual decision to award a joint prize to both Randall and Henig.

And the final award for Security Consultancy of the year was also a joint prize, being presented to Chris Roberts and Mike Bluestone.

The event was sponsored by Samsung Techwin.

The next ASC event will be the Hackerthon Debate at Loughborough University on 27 June and Consec will be held this year on 3 October at the London Heathrow Marriott Hotel.


Iain Gibson and Lord Imbert

Iain Gibson receives the winners trophy from Lord Imbert at the Association of Security Consultants annual luncheon

David Paterson and Lord Imbert

David Paterson receives his finalists certificate from Lord Imbert

Christine Boseley and Lord Imbert

Christine Boseley receives her finalists certificate from Lord Imbert

Christopher Newman and Lord Imbert

Christopher Newman receives his finalists certificate from Lord Imbert

Lord Imbert and Baroness Ruth Henig

Baroness Ruth Henig receives her award for Notable Person of the Year from Lord Imbert

Lord Imbert entertained the room

Lord Imbert entertained the room


Tom Lloyd QPM

Tom Lloyd QPM, former chief constable of Cambridgeshire and International Drugs Prevention Advisor, challenged the audience to rethink drugs prohibition


The audience listened intently as Tom Lloyd QPM challenged them to rethink their ideas about drugs prohibition

Alan Hildage, ASC chairman

Alan Hildage, chairman of the ASC, was the master of ceremonies


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.